(1 rating)
Only Time Will Tell (The Clifton Chronicles - Vol 1)
Pan Books
No. Of Pages
Description :

Only Time Will Tell is the first installment of five in the Clifton Chronicles, featuring Harry Clifton who is on a mission to learn the truth about his parentage.

Summary Of The Book

Only Time Will Tell begins as a coming-of-age novel, but soon turns into a story featuring lies and deception.

The events of Only Time Will Tell span two decades, mainly between 1920 and 1940. Set in Bristol, England, it follows the story’s main protagonist Harry Clifton, who is destined to work on the docks until fate hands him a new lease. One day, while on the verge of being expelled from school, his ability to sing well is noticed by his teachers. After passing a gruelling, 3-part test, Harry joins the school choir. It is when Harry discovers Old Jack that the story takes a different turn.

Harry learns that it is Old Jack who could solve the mystery surrounding his father’s disappearance. However, Old Jack refuses to budge from his silence, leaving a cloud of mystery and unanswered questions over Harry’s head. Nevertheless, Old Jack befriends Harry, and tutors him, which would help him gain admission into a posh school. Meanwhile, Harry’s mother secures a better-paying job at a hotel, and feels relieved that she is now able to afford Harry’s new school’s expenses.

Before starting at the new school, Harry reveals to Old Jack about his desperation to learn about his father. He informs him that the date of his birth and the date of his father's death do not coincide. It is at this time that Old Jack reveals the names of two individuals who could help Harry solve the mystery of his father’s disappearance.

Readers will follow Harry’s journey as he tries to learn about the mystery surrounding his father’s disappearance and how he deals with his own problems as he enters manhood. Only Time Will Tell quickly became an international bestseller, holding the number one position for twelve weeks in India, and selling out on the day it was released.

About Jeffrey Archer

Jeffrey Archer is an accomplished novelist, playwright, author, and former politician. He has authored numerous stories, novels, plays, and children’s books. Some of these titles are the Kane and Abel series, A Prison Diary, The Fourth Estate, and Paths of Glory.

Archer’s writing style features complex plots, written in a narrative style. He has an academic qualification for teaching from Oxford University. He was also a Member of Parliament. Archer has been married for over forty years to Mary Archer, who was the former Chairman of the Cambridge University Hospitals Foundation Trust. Together, they have two sons, James and William.

Member Reviews :
No reviews yet
About the Author :

Jeffrey Archer was educated at Oxford University. He has served five years in Britain's House of Commons, fourteen years in the House of Lords and two in Her majesty's prisons, which spawned three volumes of highly acclaimed Prison Diaries. All of his novels and short story collections--including Kane and Abel, Sons of Fortune, and False Impression--have been international bestsellers. Archer is married with two children and lives in London and Cambridge.